Is Pietermaritzburg a town or city

Pietermaritzburg, city, capital of KwaZulu-Natal province, South Africa.

Is Pietermaritzburg a town or city

Is Pietermaritzburg a city or suburb

Pietermaritzburg (/ˌpiːtərˈmærɪtsbɜːrɡ/; Zulu: umGungundlovu) is the capital and second-largest city in the province of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. It was founded in 1838 and is currently governed by the Msunduzi Local Municipality.

Is KZN a city or town


KwaZulu-Natal iKwaZulu-Natali (in Zulu)
KwaZulu1 February 1977
KwaZulu-Natal27 April 1994
Largest cityDurban

How did the city of Pietermaritzburg get its name

Pietermaritzburg was founded in 1838 and named after two leaders of the Voortrekkers Pieter Retief and Gerrit Maritz. The village was later taken over and made into a British military garrison as a defence in case of attacks.

Is Durban a city or town

Durban, formerly Port Natal, largest city of KwaZulu-Natal province and chief seaport of South Africa, located on Natal Bay of the Indian Ocean.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *